Election Night, 2012

I shed happy tears tonight when the race was called for Barack Obama. I literally sobbed…and it occurred to me that this election meant more to me than I knew – until it was won.

As President Obama said, we did this. All of us. We made this happen. And now it’s time to get back to work on a little nation-building here at home.

Thank you, America. Thank you to the folks who stood in line for hours waiting to cast their ballots. Thank you to everyone who sent their $3, their $10 and who sent whatever they could. Thank you to everyone who spent hours knocking on doors, calling voters, getting the “souls to the polls” (thank you, Ohio State Senator Nina Turner – you are a rock star!)…we did it.

I hope with all my heart that the Republican Party learns something from tonight… I hope they saw the happy faces of that crowd in Chicago, and saw the long lines of people waiting to vote…and they realize that they are on the wrong side of history.

America…the faces in the crowd in Chicago tonight…that IS America. White. Black. Young. Old. Hispanic. Asian. Male. Female. Gay. Straight. All of us. Together.

I hope this will be a time where we can work together, to understand that ‘divided we fall’ – and that we come back together to work for the good of all Americans.

I hope…but I’m not going to hold my breath. I think what’s going to happen is going to be the last gasp of the racist and bigoted Tea Party and they are going to lurch even further to the right in a Hurricane Sandy of anger and bitterness and hatred. I don’t know how long it’s going to take, but as Martin Luther King said, “The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice.”

It bent toward justice tonight.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Very good summation, Annie. I realized today that I’d been ‘snappish’ for two days. And now, the steam’s out! It’s over for the time being. Here’s hoping for better discussions between factions and a coming together to build a better America!

    Thanks for all you do to help midwife that vision!

    Reply

  2. Posted by oldchathambob on November 7, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Beautiful Leftside. Sharing widely you beautiful person.

    Sent from my Kindle Fire

    _____________________________________________

    Reply

  3. Posted by katy kay on December 22, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Started reading here re. Newtown, beautiful post, so I continued, all great, but this one…..like a mirror, your sentiments, super-especially re. Nina Turner, OMG, I couldn’t wait to see and hear her for days in the run-up with all the Republican obstructionism on Early Voting, hours, etc, she is beyond rock-star, wish I could vote for her…..President Turner, what a great sound….some day….Keep on with the beautiful, spirited writing, it helps more perhaps than you know.

    Reply

    • Posted by leftsideannie on December 22, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      Katy, thank you for reading. It helps me to write it, and knowing that smart people like you read it? That’s the best compliment ever. And here’s to President Nina Turner!!

      Reply

      • Posted by katy kay on December 22, 2012 at 10:26 pm

        Thanks for your response, glad it helps, keep it up, I won’t comment constantly, but won’t be able to help myself, probably often…..work like this helps me, helps all of us. I pass on all the good stuff to others, one by one….

      • Posted by leftsideannie on December 22, 2012 at 11:00 pm

        You’re welcome at the Leftside any old time, Katy! :o)

Leave a Reply

