A Note to my Readers

Hello, readers – I think it’s time that I need to put forth some guidelines with regard to comments on this blog.

I’m a firm believer in free speech. However, this blog is not the public square, nor is it a government outlet; it is privately operated by me. Yes, you are all most welcome to read – in fact, I’m delighted that you do! I also invite your comments, and for the most part, I do not censor comments on this blog.

However, that said, I have no intention of tolerating hate speech or continual harassment from wingnuts who persist in offering the same stupid strawman arguments over and over again, presumably to draw a false equivalence between liberals calling George W. Bush a war criminal and conservatives calling President Obama a nigger. Those two are not the same. Not even close.

And if you can’t tell the difference, then I suggest you do some homework in the form of reading and also in the form of an honest examination of your reasoning. Frankly, I believe that if you cannot tell the difference between calling George W. Bush a war criminal and President Obama a nigger, no amount of homework or self-examination is going to fix your problem.

It has been my policy to not censor comments here, but I warned you: I’ve had enough of the racist crap, so if you post comments that I deem to be stupid, repetitive, or offer ad hominem or strawman arguments, I reserve the right to remove your comments and to ban your ass permanently. Scream “censorship!!” all you want, but I don’t give a damn; your comments on this blog will never again see the light of day.

If that offends you, too bad. Deal with it. I’m not here to make wingnuts happy.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sometimes this is necessary. The folks on the right can be so downright unreasonable. Of course then they cry “you’re taking away my right to free speech” when in fact that’s simply not true. (Of course much of what they spew isn’t true.)

    Reply

  2. Posted by CommonManNY on March 22, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    They wouldn’t tolerate you speaking truth on their hateful blogs. It’s your blog. You can control the content. Too bad if the jerks can’t deal with it. They can go kick a puppy.

    Reply

    • Posted by leftsideannie on March 22, 2012 at 6:39 pm

      Matt has been a …fan… of mine for close to a year. This wasn’t a snap decision by any means. I’m just fed up with the ‘same shit, different day.’

      Reply

Leave a Reply

