Why Do Conservatives Whine So Much?

I live in Los Angeles. We have traffic here.

So, on my way to and from work, I listen to an allegedly progressive talk radio station, KTLK (11.50AM). Stephanie Miller is on in the morning, so that’s cool, then they have Thom Hartmann and Randi Rhodes. They had Norman Goldman on from 3:00pm to 5:00pm for two lovely weeks. Then one day, I happily tuned in to my progressive (!) radio station to find that Norman had been replaced by something called “The Wrap” from the Wall Street Journal…which is, of course, as we all know, owned by the right wing’s Lord Voldemort himself, Rupert Murdoch.

The show’s first guest…? Joe Barton, a House Republican from Texas – the guy who apologized to BP. Yep. Him. I was outta there so fast that my radio-button-pushing finger caught on fire. What the hell is this crap doing on a “progressive” radio station…? (That’s an unanswerable question, by the way. I have yet to figure it out. Clear Channel owns KTLK, so that might explain some of it.)

I miss politics on my drive home, so, every once in a while, hoping against hope that I’ll find Norman Goldman back on the air, I’ll check out what’s happening over there. So today, my radio-button-pushing-finger wandered over to that button again. (I know. I can’t seem to help myself.) Hope springs eternal… but sadly, no.

I found myself listening to the host – a guy whose name I can’t remember – and a couple of guys complaining about “the government interfering in our lives.” The first guy was whining indignantly about the court decision in favor of the manufacturers of violent video games; but I’m not exactly sure exactly what he was complaining about. The government certainly isn’t going to be telling him what video games he can buy for his kids – so what does this have to do with “government interference” – unless the guy was whining because he wants the government to interfere and keep those violent videos out of the hands of those innocent children. I dunno.

The second guy had his rant all ready – he was mad as hell and not going to take it anymore because the government is interfering in his right to eat as much sugar as he wants. Or maybe he’s just mad. Because the only thing the government is actually doing about that is putting calorie counts on labels and restaurant menus so you can make better choices. But evidently, that’s too much “government interference” for this meathead.

After about 30 seconds of this absurdity and ridiculous conservowhining, I found myself yelling at my car radio at the top of my lungs, for all the world like Joan Cusack, crumpled on the pavement in the middle of that deserted road in her wedding dress in “In and Out” – “where the HELL were you guys when George Bush wanted to listen in on your telephone calls and read your emails without warrants?!?”

That’s when I hit that button again. Back to rock and roll. When my blood pressure went back down to normal, I realized where those guys were.

They were busy calling me a “traitor” and telling me that I “hated America” because I didn’t want George Bush listening to my telephone calls and reading my emails without warrants. Yeah, I was actively rooting for Osama bin Laden and his hordes of Al Qaeda terrorists to show up and take over. WTF??

I think I know what the real problem is. When First Lady Michelle Obama tells kids to eat better and move more, these idiots scream about the “nanny state.” When President Obama pulls off the gutsiest of missions and actually succeeds in doing what George Bush couldn’t do – taking out Osama bin Laden – he’s “leading from behind.”

These guys are just pissed off because there’s a black man in the White House. Yep. That’s the only explanation that makes sense.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lurker111 on June 29, 2011 at 4:52 am

    “These guys are just pissed off because there’s a black man in the White House. Yep. That’s the only explanation that makes sense.”

    Exactly. Came to that conclusion a long time ago. Bunch of whiners.

    Reply

  2. I like to think there’s some “conservatives” who just have poor reading comprehension skills and can’t draw the appropriate lessons from history, but yes, there’s a chunk of ’em that just hates brown people. But if it will help cheer you up, the GOP’s pandering to racists and efforts to demonize immigrants is going to haunt them for a long time, as Matt Drudge so often points out >whites are the minority now, or soon will be. And speaking as a white man, I say, good riddance! we did a crappy job, let someone else take the lead! Keep fighting the good fight. >PS, I’ll be cleaning house and drinking wine on Saturday afternoon (not necessarily in that order :-), maybe I’ll give you call or msg to say hello.

    Reply

  3. Whining is the reaction of those who have nothing rational to put forward! It is the way 3 year-olds try to get their way. Sadly, sometimes they do….

    Reply

  4. Annie, you are an excellent writer. Please keep up the great work.

    Reply

    • Posted by Leftside Annie on July 1, 2011 at 4:48 pm

      Thank you! As long as there are stupid teabag people in the world to piss me off, the virtual ink will keep flowing.

      Thanks for reading!

      Kate

      Reply

  5. Posted by Andy on February 27, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    First, it’s guns, then it’s obamacare. They just don’t want to admit that they hate having an African American in the White House. Stupid nazi republicans always complaining on how unfair their lives are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

