Blind Allegiance to Sarah Palin

I just dug into Frank Bailey’s book “Blind Allegiance to Sarah Palin” this morning; I haven’t gotten too far in yet, but it’s already interesting.

This guy was all in for Sarah Palin for four-plus years. He had a front-row seat and was a member of the inner circle – by his own choice. He chased her down and begged her for a job (by his own admission).

So for me, this is interesting on two different levels. The guy still (after all this!) describes himself as a “FOX News conservative,” (big eyeroll) but now, he is totally disillusioned with Sarah Palin.  And not only disillusioned – disillusioned enough that he would actually appear on The Rachel Maddow Show and let Rachel (not only a godless heathen liberal, but a gay godless heathen liberal, at that!) interview him — and where he apologized to all the people he had attacked/hurt/slandered at his boss’ (Palin’s) bidding.

By the way, he still believes that we should all be Christians, that “it would be best for all of us” (how my eyes rolled at *that* statement!).

So for me, reading this book is not only about the juicy details of this guy’s ride on Sarah Palin’s crazy gravy train – it’s a case study into the mind of an authoritarian follower and the lengths to which authoritarian followers like Frank Bailey will go for their chosen leader.

Poor idealistic masochistic little guy.

In a way I feel sorry for him. In another, he totally pisses me off, because, like most classic authoritarians (whether leader or follower), he believes that he knows what is best for all of us – including me. And this guy is just a small town jerk from a very small town state – what gives him the right to think he knows best?

Oh, that’s right – he’s a “FOX News conservative” and an evangelical Christian, so it’s Roger Ailes and God Himself who told him that. I forgot.

Stay tuned, readers, because I dunno if I’m going to be able to actually get through this book; if this guy gets anymore apologetic on Sarah Palin’s behalf, well, I may puke on my Kindle.

One response to this post.

  1. Good luck to you on this one, Annie. You’re a better woman than I am.

    Apparently, Bailey has seen the light re Palin, but he’s fully vulnerable to any other high authoritarian asswipe that comes down the pike.

    I’m not sure the lesson was learned, but he’s got a sweet book deal. 🙄

    Reply

Leave a Reply

